What Is League of Legends?

What Is League of Legends?

League of Legends is a well-liked multiplayer on-line battle area (MOBA) game that has recently exploded into the net gaming scene. The game is published by Riot Games and was first launched in 2009 for Mac and PC, lol builds the Mac consumer was later closed down.

The game gives the standard 5v5 game mode available in other MOBA games which pits teams in opposition to each other on a map (called Summoner’s Rift) with the primary objective being to destroy the enemies base (Nexus).

League of Legends added a 3v3 option to the MOBA genre and launched the Dominion gameplay mode. In Dominion gamers are required to seize and hold five goal points to reduce the enemies Nexus health. This game mode is aimed at creating a quicker paced gameplay mode.

Influence Points

Influence Points are the principle foreign money in League of Legends which are given to gamers for playing games. The amount earned varies based mostly on a number of factors together with the game outcome, summoner level and the number of bots within the game.

Influence Points (often known as IP) are used to purchase in-game items reminiscent of champions and runes.

Riot Points

Riot Points are the other currency available and are available via PayPal, credit/debit card or pay as you go Riot Point Game Cards.

Riot Points can unlock rune pages, champions and varied boosts (expertise and affect factors). Nevertheless, Riot Points can’t be spent on runes. Riot Points might be earned totally free by way of numerous actions (equivalent to referring friends to League of Legends).


Runes add a stage of customisation to League of Legends. Gamers can enhance a variety of stats akin to health, damage, mana regeneration, movement velocity and lots of other stats. This permits players to play the identical champion however play them another way primarily based on rune and mastery choices.


Gamers can select from over ninety two playable champions (and this number continues to develop every week).

Champions must be unlocked with Riot Points or Affect Points before they are often played. Nevertheless, there are a number of free champions available to play every week to provide summoners the option to trial champions before purchasing them. There are many champion types available including assassins, bruisers, helps, casters, junglers and tanks.

Ranked Matches

These games are just like normal games except that players are given a rating based mostly on the result of the game, this is known as the ELO ranking system which is also used in chess. This system has created what is named ‘ELO Hell’, a place in the ELO system that is stuffed with poor gamers and intentional griefers, this part in the ELO system is hard to escape because of the crew nature of the MOBA genre.

Comments are closed.